I’m off on holiday to Japan in a week or two with the lovely Kate. She’s got a blog about it here. We’ve both wanted to go there forever, me for the ninjas, robots and pachinko, and her for the baths and clothes shops. No doubt we’ll pick up a few records over there too.

Anyway, I was flicking through one of our many guidebooks and I came across this term they use: Shibui. Here’s the canned definition:

Shibui (渋い) is a Japanese term which refers to a particular aesthetic of simple, subtle, and unobtrusive beauty.”

I love words which don’t translate into one equivalent word. They give you a little peek into where they came from.

So, here’s a tune which is quite shibui. I was going to post this before I came across the word and give you a big schpiel about Sonic Boom and that, but i’ll save that for another day. It’s John Massoni w/ Sonic Boom – ‘Organ’ from ‘The Sundowner Sessions’. I know fuck all about John Massoni – I bought the CD off Sonic after a truly outstanding E.A.R. gig a few years ago. I totally and utterly love this tune. It transports me. Reminds me a bit of ‘So Hot (Wash Away All Of My Tears)‘ by Spacemen 3, it has the same plaintive fragility about it.

Buy ‘The Sundowner Sessions’ off Sonic Boom’s website

Download ‘Organ’

