Some ambient. It’s important to remember, I think, that ambient shouldn’t just be music without beats. Brian Eno sez:

Ambient Music must be able to accommodate many levels of listening attention without enforcing one in particular; it must be as ignorable as it is interesting.

Of course, it’s easy to do the ignorable part, but a good bit harder to do the interesting bit.

This track really nails it. The first time I heard this track it was background music; the second time my ears pricked up every now and then; the third time, my eyes were closed, I stopped what I was doing and I went for the ride. It’s a long track, and is a bit reminiscent of Basinski’s ‘Disintegration Loops’ – a ‘riff’ which ever so gradually morphs through time. I love that unchanging / changing thing.

It’s also licensed under Creative Commons, so share away. Thanks to Statto from Subvert Central for the tip.

Formication – Exit

Download the album here

The band’s website

